OtherPeoplesPixels

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

help:cp:protected-vs.-shared [2012/12/12 16:28]
debbie [Shared (HTML) vs. Protected (Flash)]
help:cp:protected-vs.-shared [2012/12/12 17:43] (current)
debbie [Shared (Yes) vs. Shared (No)]
Line 1: Line 1:
 =====Shared (Yes) vs. Shared (No)===== =====Shared (Yes) vs. Shared (No)=====
  
-  * **Shared (HTML)** is the most common way to display images online. This means images on your site can be downloaded by people to repost on blogs, share with their friends, etc. It also means that they can show up on Google Image search and wireless devices like the iPhone. People could also theoretically print them out, but at their size there is little risk that a print out of your images could be sold. Shared (HTML) sites load faster and more smoothly+  * **Shared (Yes)** is the way we recommend you display your images online. This means images on your site can be downloaded by people to repost on blogs, share with their friends, etc. It also means that they can show up on Google Image search and wireless devices like the iPhone and other mobile devices. People could also theoretically print them out, but at their size there is little risk that a print out of your images could be sold. 
  
-  If you choose HTML for your Zoom Images, you still have the option to watermark them, to try to ensure that you get credit for your work. +{{:help:cp:share-my-images-yes.png?nolink&500|}} 
 + 
 +  * **Shared (No)** still allows your images to be viewable on mobile devices. Your images are covered by a transparent image, like a virtual sheet of glassso anyone who tries to right-click download will get a clear .gif file instead of your art. This means that your images cannot be shared or re-posted on blogs etc. by people who like your work. Visitors can still screen capture your images, there is no way to prevent this — but given the nature of the Internet — you shouldn't be posting anything that you don't want to be accessible to others.  
 + 
 +{{:help:cp:share-my-images-no.png?nolink&500|}}
  
-  * **Protected (Flash)** displays your images inside of a Flash “movie” that people can't download as easily as HTML. Visitors can still screen capture your images, there is no way to prevent this—but given the nature of the Internet—you shouldn't be posting anything that you don't want to be accessible to others. Flash prevents your images from coming up on Google Image search and keeps them from showing up on the iPhone or other wireless devices that can't display Flash content.  
  
-  * If you are very concerned about your Zoom images, you can either disable them or use Flash to display them with watermarks, so that even screen captured images contain your info.  
-  
 =====See Also===== =====See Also=====
  
   * [[help:cp:image-settings|Back to Image Settings]]   * [[help:cp:image-settings|Back to Image Settings]]
help/cp/protected-vs.-shared.txt · Last modified: 2012/12/12 17:43 by debbie